Drawing People In

In light of the recent campaign that our church is involved in am have been asking myself the question “What attracts People?”  Is it rewards?  Is feeling part of a group?  Is it a catchy slogan or fancy logo?  I have been really struggling with this concept lately! 

After much time and consideration I think I’ve got it figured out!  I think one of the only universal attraction points is LOVE.  I have never met a person that doesn’t enjoy being loved.  Even people who are everything that Christ is not enjoy being loved on. 

So with that being said…it begs me to ask the next question…”How do we love like Christ?”  In today’s culture, how do we realistically love people?  I would love some feedback on this…

Love you guys! 

Pastor Darryl

~ by pastordarryl on February 16, 2010.

2 Responses to “Drawing People In”

  1. Well, I’m not sure I’m supposed to answer these or not. But, if you put it out there, you’ll more than likely see me. 😉

    I believe that being kind is the key to showing love. Whether it is an open act of kindness or one done annonymously. Jesus was so kind to everyone. Kindness exudes love. Although, tough love is sometimes needed as well. Now in saying that, tough love does not imply being mean. It wouldn’t be love if that was the case. This reminds me of when Jesus characterizes the scribes and Pharisees with a broken heart in Matthew 23. It’s what they didn’t want to hear, but needed to.

  2. As far as growing a numerical class or group love, kindness, feeling like they fill a need and multiple points of contact during the week are all good reasons for people to join groups and hangout. But when it comes to church I think ICorinthians says it best. To those God is calling it is the breath of life and to those he is not it is the stench of DEATH… which has changed my concept about church, We can not make it cool enough if the word is being preached because the world should find it foolish if not offensive…… Kinda where my mind has been this year as we work to grow our church in Christ….. Love ya Big D

    I Corinthians 1:17: For Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel, and not with words of eloquent wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

    I Corinthians 1:18: For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.

Leave a Reply

 
